Facebook Twitter OCS TV Instagram
Good News Spotlight - April 5, 2016
View more pictures
Good News Spotlight Main Page
Additional Pages:
Good News Spotlight February 6, 2018
Good News Spotlight - Dec. 5, 2017
Good News Spotlight, November 7, 2017
Good News Spotlight October 3, 2017
Good News Spotlight September 5, 2017

Counselors elected to leadership roles

Michael Elder, director of Academic Innovation and AIG Services recognized two outstanding leaders who serve as school counselors, Beth Atkins, school counselor at Clyde Erwing Elementary Magnet School of International Studies and Cultural Arts and Brittany Norman, Military Liaison Counselor.

 "What we all knew as “Guidance Counselors” have seen their roles grow and become much more comprehensive. We are fortunate to have school counselors at each of our school sites and although the work they do is often private and done with confidentiality, it is critical to the success of our students," he said.

Both Atkins and Norman have been elected by their peers across the state to serve in leadership roles with the North Carolina School Counselors Association.

 The membership of NCSCA recently elected Beth Atkins, as its President-Elect and Brittany Norman, as its Southeast Region/District 2, Vice President-Elect to serve on the NCSCA Board of Directors during its 2016-17 term.

 The goals of NCSCA include promoting professionalism and ethical practices in school counseling while providing resources, knowledge and networking opportunities to promote student success in school, home and the community. Its mission is to promote excellence in the profession of school counseling and through/in practice, the academic, career, and personal/social development of all students.

 Both of these professionals would tell you that it is an honor to be able to represent counselors from our region across the state of NC and across the nation. We are both honored and blessed to have them serving our students and our schools on a daily basis. Their influence impacts our school counselors locally and with these positions they will influence counselors and policy across the state and even reach to the national level.

 Moving forward, some of the most important work for NCSCA led by Mrs. Atkins and Ms. Norman will be working with Mental Health initiatives and continuing to advocate for their profession and the students they serve.


Month of the Military Child

Norman stayed at the podium and pointed out that April is the Month of the Military Child.Often schools plan events to show support, and recognize our military-connected children.

In keeping with that, Camp Lejeune School Liaisons Donna Grady and Julie Fulton, accompanied by Col. Yori Escalante, Marine Corps Installations East, presented a banner to Student2Student members at Jacksonville High School for having been chosen, for the second year in a row, as the 2015-16 Military Friendly School of the Year.

Escalante talked about how important it is for our schools to have these types of programs to support military-connected students who often attend several schools through the course of their undergraduate education. These programs make them feel welcome, help them get adjusted to the new location and help them form close friendships in a timely manner, he said. 

Athletic recognitions

Greg Grantham, the coordinator of Athletics & Healthful Living, announced the following Player of the Year and Coach of the Year in their respective conferences during this past winter season:

The Coastal 3A Conference named the following student-athletes as Conference Player of the Year:

Jacksonville HS- Nya Mitchells- Girls Basketball

Jacksonville HS- Blaine Mainz- Wrestling

Richlands HS- Kate Ervin- Cheerleading

Swansboro HS- Maddison Baiotto- Girls Swimming

Swansboro HS- Grant Meadows- Boys Swimming


The East Central 2A Conference named the following student-athletes as Conference Player of the Year:

Dixon HS- Matt Elmore- (co-POY) Boys Basketball

Northside- Zach Hobbs- (co-POY) Boys Basketball

Northside- Kayla Stephens- Girls Basketball

 Also there were several Wrestlers that won their weight class in the Regional Tournament, thus were crowned as Regional Champion in their classification:

In 2A

Dixon HS- Corey Smith- 106 lbs

Dixon HS- Kolin Fowlkes- 132 lbs

Dixon HS- Josh Thomas- 145 lbs

Dixon HS- Christian Yuhas- 160 lbs

Northside HS- Tony Locke- 126 lbs


In 3A

Swansboro HS- Kasey Hill- 113 lbs

Swansboro HS- Patrick Peterson- 182 lbs

White Oak HS- Bruce Lee- 220 lbs

Jacksonville HS- Blaine Mainz- 132 lbs

 We also have some STATE CHAMPS from Indoor Track!!

White Oak HS 4x400m relay team- Aaron Ashworth, Edward "EJ" Anthony, Lane Dukes, Deshaun Brown & Nick Gladden


Swansboro HS high jumper-  Maggie Bamber


 Conference Coaches of the Year:

The Coastal 3A Conference named Scott Evans (Swansboro HS) as Boys Swimming Coach of the ear

 While the East Central 2A Conference named Dr. Dal Tomlinson (Dixon HS) as Wrestling Coach of the Year


Two more coaches were both honored by the NC Basketball Coaches Association as being selected Coach of the Year for District 2.

Monique Gidrey- Jacksonville HS (Basketball)

Tony Marshburn- Northside HS (Basketball)







Footer Address

Our website is in the process of being updated to ensure compliance with section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. In the interim website accessibility concerns may be brought to the attention of Jeff Pittman, Chief Technology Officer.

The school system retains control over what links will be placed on system-related websites; however, the linked sites themselves are not under the control
of the school system, its agents or its employees. The school system is not responsible for the contents of any linked site, any link contained in a linked site,
or any changes or updates to such sites. The school system provides links as a convenience, and the inclusion of any link does not imply endorsment
of the site by the school system. The school system reserves the right to remove or restrict any links.