Facebook Twitter OCS TV Instagram
Good News Spotlight — Sept. 6, 2016
View more pictures
Good News Spotlight Main Page
Additional Pages:
Good News Spotlight February 6, 2018
Good News Spotlight - Dec. 5, 2017
Good News Spotlight, November 7, 2017
Good News Spotlight October 3, 2017
Good News Spotlight September 5, 2017

SAVE Board Appointment

Deputy Superintendent Dr. Beth Folger recognized a White Oak High School student for being selected to serve on the 2016-2017 National SAVE (Students Against Violence Everywhere) Youth Advisory Board.

Kaitlyn Wade, is among nine high school students across the state chosen to serve on that board.

The members of the board met in Raleigh to participate in a National Youth Leadership Institute July 28-31 where they were trained as presenters and spokespersons for the national organization. While at the institute they planned the 2017 National Youth Summit to be held in Raleigh next April.

Members will develop their leadership skills through participation in training sessions, discussions of best practices for youth violence prevention and the practice of educational activities for sharing with other SAVE students. They will create goals for the year as well as a proactive plan to combat violence.

SAVE is a student-run, student-initiated organization. Ms. Jackson’s chapter at her schools has produced many leaders since its inception so we would like to not only congratulate Kaitlyn for her accomplishment but also Ms. Jackson for her dedication, leadership and success.

Financial Awards

Dr. Folger invited Chief Financial Officer, Mr. Hollamon, to join me at the podium.

 Onslow County Schools has recently received two distinguished recognitions for financial management for fiscal year 2015.

 The first award is the Certificate of Excellence in Financial Reporting presented by the Association of School Business Officials. It is the highest recognition for school district financial operations. This program reviews district accounting practices as represented in the Comprehensive Annual Financial Report and commends school districts that adhere to sound principles and reporting procedures. A district earning the Certificate of Excellence has demonstrated its credibility in financial management for the school system.

 The second award is the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting presented by the Government Finance Officers Association. This award is the highest form of recognition in the area of governmental accounting and financial reporting. It represents a significant accomplishment by a government and its management.

 This is the 13th consecutive year that the Onslow County Board of Education has earned these two prestigious awards.

 She commended Mr. Hollamon and his dedicated staff for their continued outstanding management of our financial resources.


Teacher scholarship award

Dr. Lesley Eason, associate superintendent of Instructional Services and Continuous Improvement come up and give us some more great news

She recognized Melinda Mauter, the music teacher at Queens Creek Elementary, for being named one of the A. Craig Phillips Honored Educator Scholars for 2016-2017 by the Development Foundation of the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching.

Each year the NCCAT fund provides for three kindergarten teachers from North Carolina to attend the professional development programming of their choice. The scholarship covers all costs associated with participation in the program including program materials. Moreover the scholars receive $250 for use in the classroom.

This scholarship serves as a memorial in perpetuity to Dr. A. Craig Phillips, an outstanding North Carolinian who spent his life finding ways to strengthen administrators, empower teachers and motivate parents to support education for all children.

She congratulated Melinda on what you do to support our students. I am sure the professional development and money will be put to good use in your classroom.


Educators and administrators from across the district were recognized and awarded certificates for Excellence in Education last May, Dr. Eason recognized the following Teachers of the Year:

Pam Day, OCS Arts TOY – Richlands Elementary

LeeAnne Cook, OCS AVID TOY – Jacksonville High School

Hannah Moehrke, OCS AVID TOY – White Oak High School

Erin Holland, OCS Tech Savvy TOY – Hunters Creek Middle School

Mary Wible, OCS Student Support Educator of the Year – Trexler Middle School

Karen Helms, Kay B. Gresham Excellence in Education Award – Hunters Creek Elementary School

Emily Kelly, STEM TOY – New Bridge Middle School

Barbara Edwards, OCS Global TOY – Jacksonville Commons Middle School



Footer Address

Our website is in the process of being updated to ensure compliance with section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. In the interim website accessibility concerns may be brought to the attention of Jeff Pittman, Chief Technology Officer.

The school system retains control over what links will be placed on system-related websites; however, the linked sites themselves are not under the control
of the school system, its agents or its employees. The school system is not responsible for the contents of any linked site, any link contained in a linked site,
or any changes or updates to such sites. The school system provides links as a convenience, and the inclusion of any link does not imply endorsment
of the site by the school system. The school system reserves the right to remove or restrict any links.