Head Start Policy Council

  • Policy Council is a formal governing body made up of parents, past parents, and community representatives.  Through monthly meetings, Policy Council empowers its members to have a direct voice in program policy.  The Council gives Head Start parents the opportunity to make decisions that affect their children's growth and development.


    Policy Council Members

    Tiffany Morales, Chairperson

    Community Representatives

    Kim Winston, Department of Social Services

    Vacant, Cooperative Extension

    Stacy Scruggs,  Onslow County Health Department

    Vollney Boney (Alt), Onslow County Health Department

    Tondrea Leach, PEERS

    Tiffany Morales, Former Parent

    Mildred Thomas, OHLA

    Mark Bulris, Onslow County Schools Executive Director of Elementary Education

    Annette Johnson, Community Representative Liaison

    Policy Council Liaisons

    Tiffany Potgieter, Former Parent

    Samuel Cheatham, Former Parent

    Kim Winston, Onslow County Department of Social Services

    Marcia Wright, Sickle Cell Disease Association

    Autumn Bishop, One Place - NCPK

    Bill Lanier, Onslow County Board of Education

    Bob Williams, Onslow County Board of Education

    Parent Representatives

    Dixon Elementary
    Heather Thomas
    Crystal Lawson (Alt)

    Morton Elementary
    Kelsey Hitchens

    Queens Creek Elementary
    Esmeralda Vigil

    Southwest Elementary
    Chelsea Reedy
    Kimyana Thomas (Alt)

    Summersill Elementary
    Jessica Rouse
    Tralinshay Moore (Alt)

    Thompson Early Childhood Center
    Amanda Basden
    Dannyel Bryant
    Cynthia McKinney (Alt)
    Malinda Mort-Bennet (Alt)

    The Policy Council meets every third Thursday of the month at
    10:00 a.m. at Thompson Early Childhood Center (440 College Street).