Return to Headlines

SBHS Group Receives National Award

Members of the SBHS S2S Team celebrate their win with confetti

The Swansboro High School Student 2 Student team has earned national recognition for their work to create a more inclusive learning environment for those who are military-connected and those who are not. The team has been named the S2S National High School Team of the Year by the Military Child Education Coalition.  

Students and their advisors learned of this excellent news on Wednesday, November 18 during a national conference call between S2S teams across the country. 

The Military Child Education Coalition (MCEC) is a nonprofit organization focused on the well-being and needs of America’s approximately 4 million military-connected children, specifically in the areas of academic opportunity and excellence, school transition support, and developmental needs. The MCEC Student 2 Student program’s goal is 100% acceptance of new students as they transition in and out of their new schools. Designed with military children in mind, the program has grown to include all transitioning students. S2S teams assist transitioning students as they learn more about their campus and the culture and community of their new home.  

In addition to being named the S2S National Team of the Year, the SBHS S2S team has also been invited to participate in the Frances Hesselbein Student Leadership program. Established by MCEC in 2006, the program offers select students an intensive leadership-building experience.  

For this year’s virtual team edition, 4 student leaders from 24 schools will attend the event from Alabama, Louisiana, Virginia, Texas, North Carolina, South Carolina, Colorado, Kentucky, New Mexico, Washington, Oklahoma, Germany and Guam. Each team will be awarded $500 to complete a leadership project in their school or community. Students Tristen Alvis, Mary Sterett, Sami Boyd and Kylie Myslinski will represent Swansboro High and OCS at the national conference.  

Congratulations to the SBHS S2S Team for these great accomplishments! We are proud to have you represent Onslow County!